Starry-eyed Gift

For my husband’s 40th birthday, I wanted to do something special.  But since I was a stay-at-home mom at the time, I didn’t want to spend much money.  Finally, I had an inspirational impulse —  I would give him the stars.

Whenever we’d been away from the lights of the metro Detroit area, my husband loved showing my kids and I the stars and enjoyed looking for constellations and planets. You might be thinking that I bought him a telescope.  You’d be wrong, although that would have been a practical idea.  I decided to bring the stars into the house.  I bought little glow in the dark stars that are meant to stick on kids’ bedroom ceilings and printed a map of the constellations of our hemisphere off of the internet.  At Kinko’s I had it blown up as big as they could make it.  On the day of my husband’s 115710main_k_constellationbirthday, while the kids napped, I laid the enlarged constellation map on the bed and with a measuring stick, painstakingly marked each star of the most common constellations on our bedroom ceiling, then stuck a little adhesive glow-in the dark five-sided star onto each mark.  Bending over to consult the map and looking up to mark the ceiling, made me literally ill, but I figured it was worth it to please the man I loved. 

That evening, I revealed the surprise to my husband, who seemed appreciative, but not as thrilled as I had expected.  I figured he was just overwhelmed. 

That night, as we got into bed, I switched off the light and asked “So, What do you think?  Do you think you’re going to like going to sleep under the stars every night from here on out?”  He replied in the voice that I knew meant he had to say something he didn’t want to say and that I probably did not want to hear.  What he didn’t want to point out was the one thing that I never thought of during my whole loving endeavor.  “Honey,” he started, “you know I can’t see them when I take my glasses off, don’t you?”

© Laura Hedgecock

One thought on “Starry-eyed Gift

  1. Thanks for sharing.

    My wife and I have been married only 18 months but we find that it’s moments like these that we remember the most. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

