Behemothic Memory

Is there something that you’ve always wanted to say to your husband? Here’s my story.

When the kids were younger, my husband often traveled to the Toronto area. Once, during the summer, he had a multi-day business trip there. The boys and I decided that we’d ride along, hang out at the Holiday Inn and see the sights. I diligently rolled all the Canadian quarters that he had carelessly dumped on our dresser for the past months and came up with roughly eighty Canandian dollars – our mad money.

The plan was that the boys and I would drop him off at the plant in the mornings and would come fetch him when he was done. One day after we dropped him off, the boys and I went to explore a Safari park. When he called me on my cell to tell me he was ready to be picked up, I got to say something I’ve never had occasion to say since – “Sorry honey, I’ll have to call you back, the kids and I are riding an elephant.”

© Laura Hedgecock 2009

One thought on “Behemothic Memory

Leave a Reply

