Driving and Drifting

“He drifts a little to the left,” the driving instructor told me. When I asked why kids drift, he explained that they drift because they’re focusing on the road too close to the car. To correct the drifing, they need to look a little further down the road.

A few days and a visit to the Secretary of State later, while riding with my 15 year old driving, I asked him how he was correcting the problem. He said, “I just look down the road and the cars going where I want to go and I center my car behind them.”

If only I could get him to apply the same strategies when he drifts in life. He’s on track, in the lane, but he sometimes drifts. He just needs to stay centered on the things a little bit further down the road.

©Laura Hedgecock 2009

Leave a Reply

