The Lesson that keeps on Teaching

My parents gave me the courage to walk my own path. They did so with just three words.

Like most teens, I had some moments when I was torn between two worlds – the bland, predictable world of my youth thus far and the more exciting world of new friends that were older and edgier. My parents sat me down to talk about how I was spending my time. They asked me if I had my eyes open and if I was carefully evaluating the motives and actions of those around me. They asked me to consider whether I was being pushed to do things with which I was uncomfortable.

The long and the short of the conversation came down to this:

“Look kid, we trust you.”

(C) 2012 Laura Hedgecock

Inspired by Carley of Findinggravity.com

Leave a Reply

