If you were marooned on a deserted island…

IMG_0290-optimizedIf you were marooned on a deserted island….

…who would you want to have with you?

…what one food would you like to have with you?

…what one book would you like to have with you?

These questions are paradoxical. I have problems coming up with answers.

If I loved someone enough to spend out a lifetime with them on a deserted island, why would I do that to them? I would choose someone who could help me escape the deserted island so I could take the person I love on a better trip.

If I were on a deserted island, I would be concentrating on survival. If you told me I had to live out the rest of my life here in Michigan without chocolate, I’d wallow around on the floor in self-pity for at least a decade. Would I knowingly take that as my only food to a deserted island, or would I take something I could literally survive on.  What other foods are there on the island? I really don’t like fish.

One book is a hard one. I don’t generally enjoy re-reading books. The Bible seems obvious, for inspiration and comfort, but I guess I’d go for Surviving and Escaping from a Deserted Island (Guaranteed).

In the meantime, I’ll read, How Not to Take Life too Literally.

© Laura Hedgecock 2012

Leave a Reply

