Rescue

In my neighborhood, people frequently rescue (or try to rescue) creatures. Sometimes it as simple as getting a lost dog back to his or her owners or putting a bird that flew into a window in a tissue box until it comes back to its sense. My neighbor across the street is currently trying to figure out how to keep a baby bunny warm and protected from predators until its AWOL mommy comes back.

Most of the time, determining whether the animal in question is wild, feral, or domesticated is straightforward. I say “most of the time” because, in the dark, I once mistook a skunk for a lost kitty. Thankfully skunks don’t respond to “Here Kitty-kitty-kitty.”

I also say “most of the time,” because another neighbor once had a problem and left my family this note.

Found (c) Laura Hedgecock 2013

Want to write about your memories?  Check out my memory-sharing website Treasure Chest of Memories.

Leave a Reply

