Kindness not Forgotten

forget me nots A year after both my parents were killed in a car accident in Alaska, I traveled there with my husband and kids to see the accident site and visit a newfound friend, the state trooper who was in charge of their case.

The accident took place within a National Forest, but the forest rangers agreed that I could plant flowers by the road as long as they were native Alaskan flowers.

The grief counselor at Life Alaska helped me locate a native plant nursery. Like every other Alaskan we encountered, the nursery owner was a kind person. Not only did he help me find two large forget-me-not plants, he also found native blue poppies to compliment them. Then he refused to take my money.

That was in 1999. Years later, my aunt and uncle visited the site on Hope Highway and noted that the forget-me-nots had spread quite nicely.

I’ve never forgotten the kindness of the nursery owner. I think of the owner every year when our Michigan forget-me-nots turn my garden and pond’s edges blue.

Today, out of curiosity, I looked to see if they are still in business. They are and I am surprised that I never noticed their name before. Here’s to Forget-Me-Not Nursery in Indian Alaska.

© Laura Hedgecock 2013
Want to write about your memories? Check out my memory-sharing website Treasure Chest of Memories.

5 thoughts on “Kindness not Forgotten

  1. What a wonderful post! I’m sure you touched them as much as they touched you. I am very sorry for your tragic loss, but am glad that you found comfort in the kindness of others.

    Wendy

    Like

  2. Laura, I will forward this to Dea and Kathy, the couple who created Forget-Me-Not Nursery in 1997 and sold it to my husband and I 2 years ago. We have always felt the love and magic that they gave to this land and to everyone who visited it. We vow to carry on that tradition, as it gives us all faith that this world is full of caring, connection, and beauty. I will pass this on to Dea and Kathy; thank you for your gratitude!
    Courtney

    Like

    • Thanks so much. I loved the pictures of the nursery on your website. It looks beautiful. I’m in Michigan, but if I’m ever in the area, I’ll definitely stop in. Thanks for your beautiful words.

      Like

Leave a Reply

