What’s a Treasure Chest of Memories?

Treasure Chest of Memories

A box full of photos and memorabilia is one type of Treasure Chest of Memories

You may have noticed that at the end of many of my posts, I refer you to my memory-sharing site, TreasureChestofMemories.com. I figure the time has come to tell you the rest of the story.

The original Treasure Chest of Memories

My passion for telling stories stems from a gift left by my grandmother. Shortly before her death, Hazel Crymes passed on an old spiral notebook filled with a lifetime of memories, which she dubbed her “Treasure Chest of Memories.” Her writings included childhood memories, stories of her children as they grew, good recipes, and wisdom she had gathered along the way.

My mother painstakingly transcribed Grandma’s handwriting so each of us could have our own copy of Grandma’s Treasure Chest of Memories.

Treasure Chest of Memories exposes roots

A Treasure Chest of Memories can expose roots–in a good way.

Calling it a “treasure” isn’t hyperbole. Grandma died in 1983, the year I graduated from college. I was not able to enjoy a woman-to-woman relationship with her in life, but through her memories, I connect with her, again and again, throughout the differing phases of my life.

Treasure Chest of Memories, the Next Generation Version

After my parents died, the value of such a Treasure Chest hit home. I decided to follow my grandmother’s example and this blog was born.

Treasure Chest of Memories Goes Public

My journey as a recipient and as a writer of a “Treasure Chest of Memories” made me realize that grandma’s gift needed to be shared. Since her writings were private and she didn’t want them to be published, I decided to help others share their memories and stories a la Hazel Style.

Memories Of Me A Complete Guide to Telling and Sharing the Stories of Your Life

A guide to creating your own Treasure Chest of Memories

I wrote a book, originally titled “Treasure Chest of Memories: How to Tell and Share the Stories of Your Life” in honor of my grandma. Now titled “Memories of Me: A Complete Guide to Telling and Sharing the Stories of Your Life” grandma’s passion for connecting with family through memories and stories is ready to launch.

I hope it turns out to be her secondary legacy.

Your Turn:

Think about it. It’s not onerous to preserve your memories and family stories. Try sharing a memory. Chances are, you’ll be sharing a treasure.

 

 

One thought on “What’s a Treasure Chest of Memories?

  1. Pingback: Questions for Ancestors: What I'd Ask If I Could - Treasure Chest of Memories

Leave a Reply

